7 Regions
Images of North
Ribeira do Porto e Ponte D Luís
Parque Natural do Douro Internacional
Parque Natural de Montesinho
Vale do Côa, Vila Nova de Foz Côa
Palácio Mateus, Vila Real
Albufeira de Vilarinho das Furnas, Parque Nacional da Peneda Gerês
Douro Vinhateiro
Parque das Termas de Vidago
Basílica de Santa Luzia, Viana do Castelo

7 Regions

Porto e Norte Centro Lisbon Region Alentejo Algarve Açores Madeira

Continental Portugal is divided in five tourist regions, in addition to two autonomous regions, The Azores and the Madeira Island. Each of these seven regions has its own and distinctive identity and each is most attractive destination by itself, and for the many extremely appealing and diversified offers available. In the North, the cradle of the country, the rich traditions and breathtaking landscapes must be emphasized; then, the Centre, with its dynamic cities, remarkable historic villages and the Serra da Estrela (The Mountain Range of the Star) can be found the widest national protected area; then, the cosmopolitan and energetic Lisbon; the unique features of Alentejo that make it to be one of the last European secrets; and Algarve Mediterranean paradise, where, beyond the postcard depictions, new and unexpected treasures can be found; the beauty and spiritedness of Madeira allied to the huge Porto Santo seashore; and last but definitely not least, the magic and the subtle mystery of the nine islands constituting The Azores, where one can feel the power of Nature as in few other places.

In all these regions, the visitor is supported by a most complete offer of equipments and services, from the great restaurants serving local and international cuisine to a wide offer of accommodations, from remarkable boutique hotels to the best international hotel networks, to most welcoming rural tourism units, and also to a very good camping network.


See all regions

Follow LifecoolerEng on Twitter